Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Davey O'Brien Award

Dec 09, 2018, 01:17
Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray wins Davey O'Brien Award

Murray beat out Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa on 56 ballots submitted by AP college football poll voters and announced Thursday. For the first time in 84 years, the top three vote-getters are quarterbacks of color: Oklahoma's Kyler Murray, Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State's Dwayne Haskins. Tagovailoa won two player of the year awards, taking the Walter Camp and Maxwell awards. The other finalists for the Walter Camp were Murray, Minshew, West Virginia quarterback Will Grier and Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen. Tagovailoa also broke Alabama's single-game touchdown records with six (five passing, one rushing) during Alabama's 52-21 victory over Auburn. The last Maxwell/Davey O'Brien split among quarterbacks came in 2016 when Lamar Jackson won the Maxwell Award and Deshaun Watson won the Davey O'Brien Award.

Kyler Murray has put together one of the greatest individual seasons in college football history. It goes to the player of the year.

White House hails China trade truce as skeptics raise doubts
At the same time, analysts said they were relieved that the Trump-Xi meeting at least pressed the "pause" button on tariff hikes. Currently, the automobile industry in the United States is not performing well because of the trade war issues with China.

For the 16th time in the last 19 years, a quarterback will win college football's most coveted individual award and that should not be a surprise this season.

The Walter Camp victor has won the Heisman the last five seasons. Only twice since 2002 has the AP Player of the Year not won the Heisman, Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh in 2009 and Stanford's Christian McCaffrey in 2015.

9 killed, dozens injured in Aleppo Chlorine attack
The United States (US) launched a series of strikes on Syrian government sites in retaliation for the attack in Khan Sheikhoun. State TV interviewed doctors in a hospital who said most people were suffering from breathing problems and blurred vision.

Behind Murray, the University of Oklahoma has the top rated offense in the country, averaging over 8 yard per play.

If Murray wins, it would be OU's seventh Heisman Trophy.

I’m Fulfilling A Dream Playing For Manchester United - Paul Pogba
Negotiations between the players' representatives and West Ham over a new deal have become hard in the past few months. This year Manchester United was again named Europe's most valuable football club, according to accountancy giant KPMG.

Tagovailoa picked up where he left off in the second half of last season's national championship game victory against Georgia to lead the top-ranked Crimson Tide back to the playoff.